Hunger Games series

The Hunger Games trilogy is a young-adult adventure science fiction series written by Suzanne Collins. The trilogy consists of The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay.

The Hunger Games series takes place in an unidentified future time period after the destruction of the current nations of North America, in a nation known as "Panem." Panem used to consist of a rich Capitol, located somewhere in the Rocky Mountains, and thirteen surrounding, poorer districts which cater to the Capitol's needs. As punishment for a previous rebellion against the Capitol wherein the thirteenth district was supposedly destroyed, every year one boy and one girl from each of the remaining twelve districts, between the ages of twelve and eighteen, are selected by lottery and forced to participate in the "Hunger Games." The Games are a televised event where the participants, called "tributes," must fight to the death in a dangerous outdoor arena until only one remains. The winning tribute and his/her corresponding district is then rewarded handsomely. It is required viewing for everyone in the districts.

The Hunger Games (2008)

The Hunger Games follows 16-year-old Katniss Everdeen, a girl from District 12 who volunteers for the 74th Hunger Games in place of her younger sister Prim. Also participating from District 12 is Peeta Mellark, a boy who loved Katniss the moment he laid eyes on her. As Katniss and Peeta battle the other tributes together, they pretend to be madly in love to gain favor with the audience. When the Gamemakers try to force the pair into a dramatic finale where one must kill the other to win, they threaten suicide and are subsequently both declared winners.

Catching Fire (2009)

Katniss learns that the Capitol is angry at her for her defiance in the previous novel, which started a chain reaction that inspired rebellion in the districts. For a special 75th edition of the Hunger Games, she and Peeta are forced into competing a second time with other past winners. They team up with a few other tributes and manage to destroy the arena and escape the Games. Katniss is transported to District 13, a place that is widely thought to no longer exist, but Peeta is captured by the Capitol.

Mockingjay (2010)

Mockingjay, the third and final book, centers around Katniss and the districts' rebellion against the Capitol. Katniss, now a refugee in District 13, demands the right to kill President Snow. Peeta and the others who were captured by the Capitol are rescued by a party including Gale, but Peeta's memories have been "hijacked" with the use of tracker jacker venom, which causes him to hate Katniss. He tries to kill Katniss, but is restrained. Finally, a group including Katniss, Gale, and a normalized Peeta go to the Capitol on a mission to assassinate President Snow. Before Katniss can reach him, her little sister Prim is killed in a bombing. Snow later tells Katniss that Coin, the president of District 13, was behind the bombing. During Snow's execution Katniss shoots Coin, and later Snow is also found dead, possibly from choking on his own blood. Katniss has a psychotic break, and tries to kill herself while in solitary confinement. Katniss, Peeta, and Haymitch return to District 12, and Katniss eventually begins to recover. In the epilogue, it is revealed that Katniss and Peeta are married and have two children.

Main characters

  • Katniss Everdeen: The protagonist of the series, Katniss competes in the Hunger Games in each of the first two novels and constantly battles between her feelings for both Peeta and Gale. She becomes the face of the districts' rebellion after she unknowingly defies the Capitol in The Hunger Games.
  • Peeta Mellark: The male tribute from District 12, who has secretly been in love with Katniss since they were children. One day he saved her life by giving her bread from his parents' bakery when her family was starving, thereby risking getting beaten by his mother.
  • Haymitch Abernathy: Katniss and Peeta's drunken friend and mentor for the Games. He won the 50th Hunger Games and is the only living victor from District 12.
  • Primrose Everdeen: Primrose, often called just "Prim," is Katniss's 12 year old sister (in Mockingjay, she is 13) who was chosen by lottery to be in the Hunger Games. Katniss volunteers to take her place. Prim is a sweet little child that everyone loves, and she regularly helps their mother heal the sick.
  • Gale Hawthorne: Katniss' best friend and fellow huntsman. Gale is fiercely devoted to Katniss, and their relationship borders on romantic throughout the series. He is two years older than her, and lost his father in the same mine explosion that killed Katniss' father.
  • President Snow: The main antagonist of the series, President Snow is the head of the Capitol and all of Panem. Provoked by the survival of two tributes in a single Hunger Games, Snow demands that Peeta and Katniss prove that the reason behind it all was just they were madly in love.
  • Part of Dazzling and TFL | Hosted by Asterous